h1

Listen to the Chocolate: Go Ahead, Have Another :-)

December 11, 2009

First of all, I must tell you that the emoticon in the headline is part of the message on the wrapper from a piece of Silky Smooth Dark Chocolate Promises® that I just ate. I don’t mind these cute little punctomelds; I just don’t do them. I am appropriately promised on the bag that these chocolates are “individually wrapped with a special Promises message inside.“ So what message do I get? Go ahead, have another 🙂 ** How self-serving of the Dove chocohawkers. I unwrap another even as I feel manipulated by these Willy Wonka wannabes, but they’ve got me. I listen to just about any kind of voice that tells me to eat more chocolate, dark, of course.

I am also hoping for some wisdom I can live by. Maybe even something to write about. Shouldn’t these messages be meaningful so that people can feel virtuous while also scarfing chocolate? I certainly think so. Just for you, I am eating another piece. It is good. It delivers the silky smoothness its bag promises. Here’s my second wrapper message: Think without boundaries. Ah, much better and compatible with an end-of-the-quarter focus on doing something intellectually stimulating instead of just letting your brain lie in a coma until it’s rescucitated to slog through next quarter.

I try again. Well, my husband does. He’s having his second: Try something new tomorrow. We’re on a roll now. Clearly I need to try one more since almost anything is better in threes. Loser! Indulge in dark. More chocohawking. For shame, Dove. This is not a promise. It is a lure, a snare, a message from the dark side. I do not bite. Literally. I will work with what you have given me: Think without boundaries and try something new tomorrow. Actually quite useful, n’est-ce pas? (Not for nothing did I take French, Spanish, and Russian many years ago. N’est-ce pas, meaning “isn’t it so?“ is quite easily found in an online dictionary, although you must Google® it and NOT rely on your tools which are pretty much useless.)

As you know, I am a fan of writing things down. Clearly, that’s part of what I do or I would not be doing this. Still, unless you capture your thoughts it will be difficult to revisit them over time. Oh, you’ll remember some things, but some of your best ideas and insights will be lost in the overwhelming tide of new ideas and insights, so here’s some homework for the holidays: think without boundaries and make the something new you try tomorrow writing down some of those boundary-less thoughts. Here are three prompts I use to inspire my own thinkwriting:

• Talk to yourself about–well, anything: what you’re thinking, wondering about,
hoping to do. Keep a list of things you wish were possible. Start another of things you hope to accomplish.

Gee, I never had an innermost thought in my whole life
• Cindy,
The Brady Bunch

• Keep track of things you’d change or do differently. Be specific about how you’d
change them and why.

Consistency requires you to be as ignorant today as you were a year ago.
• Bernard Berenson

• What have you discovered this term about how and why you learn?

That is what learning is. You suddenly understand something you’ve understood all your life, but in a new way.
• Doris Lessing

Promise me that you will capture at least three ideas over the holidays. I will keep nagging, so you might as well just do it.

Ideas lose themselves as quickly as quail, and one must wing them the minute they rise out of the grass—or they are gone.
• Thomas F. Kennedy

** I am editing this right now to let you know that I did not add the delightful yellow smiley face to my writing. If I did want to add clever little punctomelds to my work, how annoying is it that Word turns them in to its own version ( ☺ ) and completely destroys my efforts forcing me into the backspace of personal intention which doesn’t seem to translate when I post? What I write looks like one thing when I word proccess and cut and paste and turns into another as I publish. I do not like it when a machine thinks it knows what I want to do. I will tell it what to do. Otherwise, it should just behave and not try to second guess me.

Leave a Reply

