h1

I Got Nothin’: Acronymic Thoughts on Life

January 31, 2010

I am braindead. I’m sure you’ve felt this way. Drained of inspiration and yet in need of getting your work done anyway? As I tried to dredge up all the ideas for posts that I left at home in a file for just such emptythought moments, I wrote the words, “I got nothin’,” and realized that perhaps there was more there than I thought, cheesy though it might be. (I do find that I am often a Cheese Queen. Just call me Velveeta.) Here’s my nothin’:

N is for necessary. What’s necessary for you? What keeps you sane? What small satisfactions are crucial to your well being? Movies are necessities. Reading in bed is a necessity. Dark chocolate is a necessity. Kind words and smiles and understanding are all necessities. So is good Mexican food. Work I love and work that matters and work that integrates my passions—these are necessities too. And people I care about and people who care about me. I need them too.

O is for optimism. I can’t live without it. I have to believe that the good outweighs the bad in the world. I have to believe that something wonderful is lurking around the corner. I have to.

T is for tarantulas. These are not a necessity. Just checking to see if you’re reading. This is a pet peeve of mine, incidentally, and this is one way I can relate this post to student success. Do not insert clever little traps into your papers in hopes of catching a teacher not reading something. I can’t tell you how irked I get when I come across a “bet-you’re-not-reading-this” in the middle of a sentence. I always want to write, “I was reading, but now I’m not. Too bad for you!” Major success in school hint: Do not irritate your teachers needlessly.

H is for hope. I once worked with a group of elementary and middle school children on a project related to creating a more peaceful world. One girl wrote the word hope on her paper and said that she put hope because without hope what else was there? Indeed.

I is for inspiration. This is daily post number 141 in a row. I am learning about the difficulties of shoehorning this activity into already busy days. I am learning something about my own somewhat obsessive nature. I am learning to let go. I have also learned that I should take my idea file with me when I leave town.

N (oh, no, another n!) is for niceness. I try to be nice. I don’t always succeed and I don’t believe in letting people take advantage of my good nature, but I know that I feel better about myself when I try to be nice and that’s reason enough for me.

And that’s that. I got nothin’ and not much more, but with nothin’ I got somethin’, no matter how lame.

I got nothin’. What do you have?

I love talking about nothing. It’s the only thing I know anything about.
• Oscar Wilde

Leave a Reply

