h1

I Don’t Know What to Call It, but I’m Celebrating Anyway

March 31, 2010

I’m not going to be caught around here for any fool celebration. To hell with birthdays!
• Norman Rockwell

I’m not celebrating my birthday today (it’s in September–mark your calendar!), nor am I commemorating my anniversary. That was Monday. No. Today is my 200th post since last fall when I decided to add this daily experiment in creative persistence to my already busy enough schedule.

I teach a course in classroom creativity and much of my work as an educator and a human being focuses on both personal creativity and on the ways in which leaders of all kinds in and out of the classroom can make room for—and truly nurture—the creative spirits of the people with whom they work. (Note: being creative yourself is often easier than nurturing it in others since that can require you to put your desired outcomes aside to allow room for others to add theirs.)

Tomorrow I’ll finish the D.O.L.I.F.E., but today I want to bask in accomplishment and share a few insights from this persistence:

• Nothing that has to be done repetitively is always fun. See what I’ve written about drudgery in earlier posts. No matter how delightful a task is, if the sun rises and you have to do it again and then again and then once more, you may wish you’d never begun.

• If you decide to do something like this, it takes on a life of its own. I have a huge pile of possibilities of things to write about now and I cannot read or listen or view without thinking about it.

• I could be much better at this if I were able to devote real time to it, but every time I do, I realize how much time it’s sucking from other things that I really need to be doing, making this blog an ongoing procrastinatory project, thus linking it to my study of procrastination, which makes it less of a time-waster and more purposeful, doesn’t it?

• I am discovering how truly adept I am at interlinking all of my interests and finding uses for the seemingly useless. I am becoming particularly good at finding other uses for these posts and making them an integral part of my teaching life. I have realized on re-reading, for example, that some of the posts will fit into courses I teach. I just used some in handouts for a conference presentation. Combining the want to with the have to is one way to integrate your life. This work gives me a concrete way to illustrate that integration.

• I am learning to be okay with mediocrity. It makes me sad even to word process those words, but there are days when I truly don’t have the time to devote to saying something significant (okay, there are LOTS of days when this is true as any regular reader would probably notice). There are other days, however, when I thought that I didn’t have time and I whip something out and I find, on later rereading, that I said something significant. Go figure.

• If you want to learn something about your writer’s quirks, do some regular writing and then reread it. You will shrink in horror as well as pat yourself on the back in celebration of your cleverness. I’m hoping you’ll be able to do more patting than shrinking!

If a celebration of a 200th anniversary is a bicentennial, what DO you call a 200th post celebration?

What can you celebrate today? It doesn’t have to be big or important—just something you’re delighted by or happy about.

Sometimes people get mad at The Simpson’s subversive story telling, but there’s another message in there, which is a celebration of making wild, funny stories.
• Matt Groening

2 comments

  1. how you made such active site can you explain me alittle



Leave a Reply

