h1

Collecting and Connecting in The House of Stuff or Did Ewoks Wear Ice Skates?

April 9, 2010

Every man’s [and woman’s] work, whether it be literature or music or pictures or architecture or anything else, is always a portrait of himself [or herself].
• Samuel Butler

I am a collector and connector, and whether you visit my writing or my office or my closet or my home, you’ll see what I mean. I take this and I put it with that. I rearrange the pieces of my life kaleidoscopically, finding joy in combining old things with new to create the unexpected.

Here are three pictures from one incarnation of The House of Stuff:

Saddam, c. early 1990s, in The Amuseum of Un-Natural History

I don't remember Ewoks in ice skates, do you?

The Beatles' "Flip Your Wig" game and so much more!

I swim in a sea of stuff. I always have. I understand the simplification movement intellectually, but I’m not embracing it!

Whether you live in a house or a dorm room, there’s likely something to be learned about you from your space. What does your living space say about you and your interests?

Pictures help you to form the mental mold.
• Robert Collier

Leave a Reply

